The Casey Anthony trial has come and gone and the attorneys in that case have moved on to new work. One of the prosecuting attorneys for the State was Jeff Ashton, esq. Mr. Ashton decided to retire after the verdict of not guilty was announced in the Casey Anthony trial. He did not state why he was retiring but I think it is safe to assume that the public reaction to the controversial trial. In fact, if I were the prosecutor in that high profile case where most of the world could not see reasonable doubt but I lost the trial, I would probably retire as well.
Mr. Ashton is back in the Florida court. However, this time he is not acting as a prosecutor. Instead, Mr. Ashton is acting as a criminal defense (DUI defense) attorney on behalf of a family member. Mr. Ashton is representing his 21 year old son, Alexander Ashton, for allegedly driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (in California, this case would be prosecuted pursuant to California Vehicle Code Section 23152(a) and (b)). Mr. Ashton is pushing his son’s case to trial and a Jury was selected on Monday. The DUI trial in Seminole County was set to begin Today, Thursday February 16, 2012.
The Orlando Sentinel wrote an article concerning a report that DUI lawyer Ashton wrote defending his son. More specifically, Mr. Ashton stated that his son deserves the “right to have his day in court like any other citizen.” As a DUI lawyer myself, I strongly agree with Mr. Ashton’s report defending his son and acknowledging that everyone deserves to have the best defense that they can get- that everyone deserves to have someone stick up for them regardless of the allegations. However, I find this statement to be ironic coming from the prosecutor on the Casey Anthony homicide trial.
In California, if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI/ DWI/ BUI/ BWI), the punishment is severe. A typical California DUI conviction consists of a minimum of two days in the county jail, a fine in the amount of around $2,000, three to five years of probation (informal court probation), a court ordered education class for 3 months (but can be as much as 18 months depending on the circumstances), and a suspension of your driver’s license for at least four months. Act Quick! If you or someone you know has been arrested for a DUI in California, it is important to request an admin per se hearing with the California Department of Motor Vehicles within ten days of your arrest and this includes weekends. Save your license and request the hearing or have an attorney request the hearing for you.
For an attorney, visit:
We’ve got you covered for a DUI in California!